HEB Chamber honors 11 community leaders

Award Winners Group 2017

The HEB Chamber of Commerce recognized 11 honorees at its Annual Awards Luncheon, held January 13 at the Texas Star Conference Center in Euless. The event celebrates member businesses, organizations and individuals for their outstanding contributions to the Chamber and the HEB community.

More than 60 Chamber members were nominated this year. Robert Earley, president and CEO of JPS Health Network, served as master of ceremonies, and awards were presented in a variety of categories, recognizing both organizations and individuals.

The award for Large Business of the Year went to Atmos Energy.

“Their employees have helped out at events including the Bedford Fire Department’s Pancake Breakfast and the Hurst Fire Department’s Steak Dinner,” Earley said. “And each spring, they designate a full day to volunteer at 6 Stones Mission Network. In short, this honoree is a valued friend to both the HEB Chamber and many other local organizations.”

Allan Weegar, retired city manager for the City of Hurst, received the Clyde Mooney Award, the Chamber’s highest recognition.

“Allan provided visionary leadership and was actively involved with the HEB Economic Development Foundation,” Earley said. “He also was instrumental in the economic development and revitalization of Hurst. … And in the process of developing the city, he helped his team develop a strong organization and a culture of customer service excellence.”

Mary Frazior, president and CEO of the Chamber, said the luncheon is an important event for the Chamber and the community.

“The luncheon is an opportunity for us to shine a spotlight on some of the members who made truly significant contributions in 2016,” Frazior said. “They are an asset not only to the Chamber but to our community, and we are honored to have them as members.”

The complete list of winners:

Small Business of the Year: Miguelito’s Mexican Restaurant & Lounge

Mid-size Business of the Year: Central Station Marketing

Large Business of the Year: Atmos Energy

Officer of the Year: Steve Farco, Mason-Dallas, Inc.

Director of the Year: Jeff Corbet, Jeffery Corbet, D.D.S.

Ambassador of the Year: Tyler Gibson, Farmers Insurance

Gertrude Tarpley Memorial Spirit Award: Tracy Morehead, Edward Jones

Member of the Year: Bob Dahdaleh, Cosmic Counselor

HEB Chamber of Commerce Community Service Award: The Thompson Group Classic Chevrolet

Bill Ridgway Spirit of Enterprise Award: HEB Independent School District

Clyde Mooney Award: Allan Weegar

See more photos from the event on our Facebook page.

Promoting Business
for Over 50 Years

Stay in the Know &
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Click Here to Sign-Up 

community, business, networking

Become a Chamber Member 

Physical Address: 2109 Martin Drive, Bedford, Texas 76021 | Mailing: P.O. Drawer 969, Bedford, Texas 76095
Phone: 817.283.1521 | Fax: 817.267.5111 | Email: chamber@heb.org
© 2019 HEB Chamber of Commerce. All rights reserved.